Classroom blogs

It was hard at the beginning. I could not use a computer before 2004. I had to ask a younger mate what a blog was. Blogger gave me a good chance at the beginning: it was easy to handle and I am still keeping my old blog.

The purpose – at least at the beginning – was to tell interesting stories or provide interesting details about English or English teaching so that students and parents could identify me with my teaching and the way a thought of it. Noone read my posts of course and then I thought: if only students could take part in my project, they would become more enthusiastic about English and so on.

This is how I started my WordPress blog. Students were given an email address and they sent their essays there. I had a few problems though: to begin with, students feel ashamed about the fact that other students read them and, of course I had a couple of legal inconviniences: I can’t (I don’t want either) to have my students’ email addresses or any other kind of personal details apart from the ones I have to keep in order to teach them. The next problem was some students claim that they have the money to buy computers or they simply assert their parents can’t pay for an internet connetion. I forgot to mention that of course, I could not add students as blog users because they have to give me their e mail addresses or they had to sign up for a new blog themselves.

To avoid privacy problems I started a Wiki by Wikispaces. It all sorted privacy problems. A new problem arised: students keep copying and pasting projects. In spite of that I keep up my spirits and I’ll try with something new.  I have been talked

about “Kidblog”. Every student is supposed to have his/her own blog, privacy is kept, no extra information is requested and they don’t have to sign up or opne a new account.

Imagen

About José Juan Herrerías

I'm a teacher of English as a foreign language in Spain. I work at a secondary school. I really enjoy learning and teaching English. One of the best ways of doing so, is reading and writing. Express myself through the books I read.
This entry was posted in Reading and readers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments

