The Book Thief

Level: A 2.2

Target Language: Review on a film of book essay.

I missed the film but I was looking for something good to read in English. I was doubtful but in the end I chose this little jewel. I’d simply discribe it as a fantastic novel: well written, entertaining, amusing, relaxing and thrilling at the same time. It is simply worth both your money and time.

The book is set in Nazi Germany during WWII and it tells the story of a girl who has to separate form her mother and live with strangers in another town in Germany. The whole story turns around her new family and neighbourhood; what the characters’ relationship with war and politics were,  and how everybody managed to survive in such complicated circumstances.

It is nice for people who want to have a History lesson and see as a priviledged witness what really happened with Jews in this particular period.

The downside of it is the large amount of new vocabulary I had to look up in my dictionary and the sadness of the ending. The characters become so overwhelming and appealing to the reader’s eyes, that when something bad happens to them,  it all becomes a personal tragedy.

I really, really recommend people to read this book. In my opinion, it’s going to become one of the very first XXI century classics.

About José Juan Herrerías

I'm a teacher of English as a foreign language in Spain. I work at a secondary school. I really enjoy learning and teaching English. One of the best ways of doing so, is reading and writing. Express myself through the books I read.
This entry was posted in A.2.2., Reading and readers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments

