Dan Brown’s Inferno

Level: B.1.1

Textual type: book review.

This thriller features (again) professor Robert Langdon in his extremely fascinating quest for the survival of the world.

Overpopulation and the risks looming over the world are both the main topics tackled with in this (in my opinion) Brown’s masterpiece.

Florence and Istanbul are the perfect scenery to reveal Brown’s typical mysteries frequently based on codes recorded or drawn on classical works of art.

His enemies and allies are mischievous this time. One never knows what’s going to happen in the next page. Dark as well as very well known organizations take an important part in the story as the reader never seems to discover what is actually going on.

In my opinion though, the weakest part of the plot is the other main character; Langdon’s partner. I found it quite weird that her genius partner was following him without even asking if she was going to have any kind of reward.

I had fun reading the book. It reminded me a lot of his previous thrillers. Robert Langdon is an exceptionally attractive character for me. He combines both knowledge, common sense, experience and some physical appeal.

I strongly recommend students to read this book as it is really amusing and the language the author uses is not particularly difficult.

About José Juan Herrerías

I'm a teacher of English as a foreign language in Spain. I work at a secondary school. I really enjoy learning and teaching English. One of the best ways of doing so, is reading and writing. Express myself through the books I read.
This entry was posted in B.1.1., Reading and readers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments

