The Martian

Reading The Martian has really been an unforgettable experience. The story set in Planet Mars at some point in the near future. Would would you do if someone proposed you to be among the first explorers to reach Mars? This is what I sometimes tell my son it might happen to his own descendants. What if you got stranded there for a long period of time? You ought to be a genious to survive in such a place with a limited set of food, air and water.

I would not spoil the end of the story because, of course I strongly recommend anyone to read the book. To be sincere I haven’t watched the film yet, but I am not really looking forwards to it. I want to keep it the way I imagined it is supposed to come about.

The main character tells us the story as though he was recording messages in a digital diary. He is struggling to survive and looking for solutions to any survival issues that might arise. It reminds me of other adventure novels like Robinson Crusoe , Huckelberry Finn or Don Quixote as the main character has to tackle with the inconveniences of a very long and dangerous journey.

Is is relevant what we say or think if other people are not listening? Is is important what we say or think when our own survival is at risk? These are some o the phylosophical topics this book comes up with and indeed, it makes you feel responsible for your own thoughts, opinions and actions.

It took me about a month or so to read the book: between May and June 2016. I read it on my Sony digital reader and I bought my copy on Google Books. This is no longer the old experience, is it?

 

curiosity

About José Juan Herrerías

I'm a teacher of English as a foreign language in Spain. I work at a secondary school. I really enjoy learning and teaching English. One of the best ways of doing so, is reading and writing. Express myself through the books I read.
This entry was posted in Reading and readers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments

