The Element

The Element is one of the best, not to say the best essay I have ever read. As a teacher who tries his best and elbows his way through the daily difficulties of everyday teaching, I do really appreciate what I learned from this book.

It makes you think about all school methods and approaches in a way that you hesitate whether the ways you have been taught and you try to teach others are appropriate.

Is it questionable? Yes, indeed, because our societies are dramatically changing. As the author asserts, we are preparing our students for professions that probably still don’t exist. The use of computers and new technologies is also changing the ways young people get their access to knowledge.

How does he do that? In a very amusing and entertaining way, I’d say.  He presents examples of people who became famous, each in their specific fields, but they had been turned down or looked down on by school or colleges.

In my opinion, this essay turns up-side-down the whole phylosophy of education in our days. Our politicians and education representatives should bear in mind Mr. Robinson’s ideas so that our education systems keep working in an effective and satisfactory way.

I strongly recommend everyone to read this book, particularly if the reader is a person related to education.

The Element presentation on Youtube

 

 

 

About José Juan Herrerías

I'm a teacher of English as a foreign language in Spain. I work at a secondary school. I really enjoy learning and teaching English. One of the best ways of doing so, is reading and writing. Express myself through the books I read.
This entry was posted in Reading and readers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments

